More on the side project

I’m about 2/3 of the way through transcribing my selected poems (I should have all of them transcribed by about lunchtime tomorrow).

It’s been somewhat tricky at times, because the great majority of the poems are hand-written, which makes some letters and words very ambiguous (for example, I was able to get ‘kissed’ mixed up with ‘limned’, which is hard to do under ordinary circumstances). I suppose this is a problem that publishers and typesetters often faced before personal typewriters became common and authors’ manuscripts really were hand-written…

Thanks to my wonderful careers advisor at York, I have a line on a self-publishing company — YPS Publishing. This should greatly expedite the publishing process, since I won’t have to wait around worrying about whether or not each new letter that comes in the morning is a rejection letter.

Onward and upwards, I suppose!

Leave a Reply

