December workflow

This month has been feeling relatively gentle so far, which is surprising given that I’ve totted up, in one week, nearly half of my word count for the whole of last month. Maybe it’s because of the way my workload has panned out; I’ve mostly been getting mid-length manuscripts which I can polish off in a day or so, and I’ve usually been able to take some time in between work and supper to run errands or watch a DVD and relax a little.

I’ve also finally brought my late grandfather’s short stories over to my house. He wrote quite a few science fiction bits and pieces, which were apparently quite good, but he became disheartened after receiving one too many publisher rejection letters. Quite a lot of this material was probably lost or destroyed — shortly after he passed away (earlier this year), I came into possession of the surviving manuscripts. There isn’t enough material to justify the cost of producing a hard-copy collection. If, therefore, I have some downtime over Christmas and New Year, I’ll be transcribing the stories in LibreOffice Writer with a view to serialising them on this blog (sort of like Strand magazine, but without illustrations) starting in January or thereabouts. Look forward to it!

Leave a Reply

