Hellooooooooo April!

(The month, that is!)

Work is rolling along at a steady pace 🙂 I can’t say much more than that, because I take client confidentiality seriously.

Sooo…

On the topic of lamb hotpot: do not try to make this in a slow cooker. I made the experiment on Sunday, broadly following the Hairy Dieters: How to Love Food and Lose Weight recipe, replacing the 1hr45mins@170C oven cooking with 8 hours in my slow cooker, with the first hour at ‘high’ and the rest of the time at ‘medium’. Everything did cook and I’ve felt no ill-effects from eating any of it (tastes great!), but the potatoes, while they certainly tasted cooked, retained a very firm texture rather than gaining the softness that I usually associate with cooked potato. I suspect that this was due to my cutting them into slices and layering them on top of the other ingredients rather than dicing them and stirring them in. I’ll chalk this one up to experience, and remember to mash the spuds instead next time I bring lamb and slow cooker into culinary conjunction.

I have paprika chicken planned for next week — hopefully it turns out better than the hotpot! I have a particular interest in this chicken dish because it was referred to in passing in the first chapter of Bram Stoker’s Dracula; Jonathan Harker speaks favourably of the dish and makes a note to get the recipe for his fiancée Mina. It’s strange, the way my brain connects things sometimes…

Leave a Reply

