Adventures in the wrestling of cassoulet

I tried out this recipe, with appropriate procedural modifications, in my slow cooker on Sunday. It turned out deliciously and I managed to get seven portions out of it, rather than the ‘serves 4-6’ indicated on the recipe itself! Should keep me going for a bit ๐Ÿ™‚

The modifications I used were:

  • One whole head of celery rather than 4 sticks thereof
  • Chopping in half a small ham joint in addition to the other meat (it needed eating up)
  • Seven chicken thighs rather than six (there were seven thighs in the pack I bought and I didn’t want to waste any)
  • 800g cannellini beans rather than 400g cannellini and 400g butterbeans (I’m not keen on butterbeans)
  • Sweating down the onions, celery, carrots and garlic in one saucepan and then just throwing everything into the slow cooker

Even if I’d followed the recipe quantities exactly, I suspect that I would still have met something like the situation in which I in fact found myself — specifically, that there wasn’t room in the slow cooker for everything, leaving me with three containers of cannellini beans (roughly 600g beans (drained weight)) and a tin of plum tomatoes to find a use for. I eventually hit on the solution of draining the beans and heating them in a small saucepan with the tomatoes shortly before dividing up the cassoulet, and mixing some of the bean-and-tomato mixture with each separate portion. It worked perfectly ๐Ÿ™‚

Delicious as it is, cassoulet is a somewhat heavy dish. I’ll be trying out a couple of low-cal salads next week — prawn cocktail and chicken caesar. These are my favourite types of salad anyway, so I’m looking forward to it with great anticipation!

Leave a Reply

