Salad days

Work is pretty slow at the moment, but given the patterns of month-by-month fluctuations in the amount of stuff coming in, I’ll probably be slammed by this time next week…

As for salads, the Hairy Dieters’ low-cal ‘posh prawn cocktail’, which formed my supper yesterday, turned out brilliantly ๐Ÿ™‚ Sadly the recipe doesn’t seem to be available online (and reproducing it here directly from the book seems like a good way to invoke the wrath of the copyright gods) so I’ll just have to settle for saying that it’s going to be a definite fixture in my culinary repertoire, and that it’s persuaded me to like iceberg lettuce!

The other salad recipe I have planned for this week is Chicken Caesar salad. I’m relishing (no pun intended) the opportunity to make one of my favourite salads, in a guilt-free way, with my own hands ๐Ÿ™‚ Looking at the ingredients list and the sizes of the various containers of ingredients that I have in stock, I’m definitely going to have some anchovies, parmesan, garlic and quite a bit of ciabatta bread left after making this reicpe. Luckily, I have access to some yummy cheeses, chutneys and pickles, as well as a chicken korma planned for next week, plus some quick pasta recipes (these last two being especially handy for using the garlic, and the pasta dish I have in mind should be good for the anchovies), so nothing will go to waste ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

