Epic stew

Work was very intense and exhausting last week, especially towards the end, so for meals this week I went for something that wouldn’t take much effort. Luckily, I had some tomato sauce and olives left over from tortilla-wrap pizzas last week, a five-sixths empty jar of wholegrain mustard that had been sitting in my fridge for a while, and a burning curiosity as to what would happen if I put four different types of meat in the same dish.

I therefore brought out my slow cooker and constructed an epic stew containing:

  • Four chunky chestnut mushrooms (chopped)
  • Three red onions (coarsely chopped)
  • Two carrots (peeled, thinly sliced)
  • One entire bulb of garlic (cloves peeled and chopped)
  • Casserole-grade beef
  • Lean lamb mince
  • Chicken breast fillets
  • 12 mini cooking chorizos
  • The leftover wholegrain mustard (mixed with the sautéing veg)
  • A jar of olives in brine (drained, rinsed and added straight to the slow cooker)
  • The remaining 1/3 jar of tomato sauce
  • A tube of tomato puree (yes, the whole tube)
  • The rinsings of the mustard and tomato sauce jars (which, combined with the liquid released by the beef and lamb during browning, meant I didn’t need any extra stock)

It turned out deliciously! 😀 I got 8 portions in total, meaning that I’m fixed for meals for most of this week and I have a few backup portions in my freezer for next week 🙂 Fun fun!

Leave a Reply

