Eastern European Chicken Noodle Casserole

A writer friend of mine passed this recipe to me a good few months ago. I’d been intending to make it last week, but between holidays and being struck down with a bout of galloping lurgy, I had to put it off until yesterday. It was worth the wait, though!

Here’s the recipe as it was sent to me:

Eastern European chicken noodle casserole 🙂

10 oz of egg noodles (I use the whole package lol)

Chicken (I usually put two small cans worth)

2 cups sour cream

½ lb cream cheese (I use less than that)

1 can cream of chicken or mushroom

2 eggs

4 tablespoons of butter

Salt

Pepper

Peas (optional)

Nutmeg or paprika (optional)

1.) Preheat oven to 350F (180C)

2.) Cook noodles, after draining mix with butter.

3.) In a large bowl, mix together the sour cream, cream cheese, cream of chicken/mushroom and eggs.

4.) Add in the chicken and peas to the wet mixture. Mix it all together.

5.) Add salt and pepper (and other spices if using in the mixture). Add the noodles and mix together well.

6.) Pour it all into a large casserole/baking dish and pop it in the oven for 30 minutes.

Enjoy! 🙂 The sour cream and cream cheese are what make it eastern European

My notes:

  • I don’t have a casserole dish large enough to hold all of these ingredients, so I made this recipe in my slow cooker instead. As such, I omitted the eggs as I was a bit unsure of how they’d turn out
  • I added a sautéed onion and a good amount of garlic out of sheer force of habit — I always put onion and garlic into my slow cooker dishes XD
  • Canned chicken meat doesn’t seem to be a thing here in England, so I bought a pack of four chicken thighs and manually de-boned them. This seemed to produce enough meat to suffice
  • 2 cups sour cream is about 8 ounces or 227g
  • 1/2lb cream cheese is also 8 ounces or 227g
  • With the soup (I used a can of cream of mushroom), running a little water around the sides of the can to loosen remaining dregs of soup then pouring the rinsings into the casserole mixture is a good way to add a little extra liquid if things are looking a bit dry — this is especially handy if you’re making this recipe in a slow cooker and would like a little extra liquid to help the heat move through the food

Verdict: OM NOM NOM YUM YUM! This is a brilliantly tasty recipe and a great winter warmer 🙂 Buon appetito!

Leave a Reply

